The Wyoming County Sheriff’s Tax Department is located
on the mail floor of the Courthouse.
The Tax Department is responsible for the collection of all personal
and real estate taxes due in Wyoming County.
Tax billings are mailed mid July each year and collections start
July 15 or on the first working day after that date. The current
tax obligations are based on assessments of ownership July 1 of
the previous calendar year. Personal property taxes are generated
from assessment forms completed by the customer and forwarded to
the Wyoming County Assessor’s Office. Real estate taxes are
generated from the recorded deed of ownership.
The state code allows for discounts of current tax year taxes
for timely payments. September 1 is the deadline for 2.5% discount
of the first half payment and March 1 for the second half payment.
All current year taxes become delinquent Apr. 1, 2007 and all unpaid
delinquents are published as legal advertisements in the local
newspapers. Significant increases have been approved for publication
costs effective October 2006. Early payment of taxes is advised
to avoid this penalty.
Unpaid delinquent real estate taxes are offered at public auction
each year during November. The delinquent 2005 real estate will
be offered at the Sheriff’s Tax Lien sale November 15, 2006.
Payment of taxes may be in person at the tax counter or by mailing
payment to the address above. Be sure to always include the tax
ticket numbers when mailing payments. Discover Card is the only
credit card approved for payment of taxes.
Tax customers are encouraged to contact this office as soon as
possible with changes of mailing addresses and/or any discrepancies
of their tax billings.
All class A and G renewals may be purchased at the Tax Office.
Proof of payment of personal property taxes of the 2005 and all
prior years is required. You must also have a certificate of insurance
completed on the reverse side of the application
CONSEALED WEAPONS APPLICATIONS
Concealed weapon applications are processed through this office.
A printable application may be found on this web page. Applicants
must be a resident of Wyoming County. Be at least 21 years of age.
Have proof of approved weapons handling class (or honorable discharge
DD-214). A copy of the aforementioned is required as well as a
copy of a current WV driver’s license. The initial fee is
$75.00 The application processes is approximately two weeks and
an additional $15.00 due upon receiving the permit.